Skip to Main Content

Historic Landmark Preservation Commission: Home


The Randolph County Historic Landmark Preservation Commission meets at 6 p.m. on fourth Wednesday of each month in the meeting room of the 1909 Historic Courthouse, 145 Worth Street, Asheboro.

Next Meeting: 6 p.m. Wednesday, June 26, 2024. NOTE CHANGE OF VENUE: Asheboro Public Library Meeting Room, 201 Worth Street, Asheboro, N.C. Agenda Packet.

Past Meetings -- Minutes

Learn about our Historic Landmarks and Cultural Heritage Sites/Objects

Meeting information

Application information

The Randolph County Historic Landmark Preservation Commission, established in 2008 by the Randolph County Board of Commissioners, serves as Randolph County's official body to identify, preserve, and protect Randolph County's historic landmarks, and to educate the public about those resources as well as historic preservation in general, recognizing that natural heritage and related historical landmarks are some of Randolph County's most valued and important assets, and that the conservation and preservation of historical landmarks can enhance the quality of life for residents and can foster economic development by helping to sustain heritage tourism resources. The commission considers two categories of recognition: Local Historic Landmark and Local Cultural Heritage Site/Object.

A Local Historic Landmark is a designation indicating that the property meets criteria established by the landmark commission ordinance, and is important to the heritage and character of the community. Local Historic Landmark designation helps give our county individual character and ourselves a sense of place, pride, and historic connection. Local Historic Landmarks provide a tangible link to the past, with people, places, and events, that have made significant contributions to Randolph County history and thus have shaped our present. Local Historic Landmark designation places some restrictions on how property owners can make changes to the designated site. The commission recommends this designation to the local governing board, which can then enact an ordinance designating the site as a Local Historic Landmark.

Cultural Heritage Site/Object designation is a recognition program unique to the Randolph County Historic Landmark Preservation Commission. It is designed to increase public appreciation and awareness of the special heritage and history of Randolph County. Cultural Heritage Sites and Objects and are locations or artifacts of local significance. This can include open spaces that are works of man or the combined works of nature and man, including parks and landscapes, locations of mills and bridges, and archaeological sites which are of local historic value to the local community. Cultural Heritage Sites can also include natural features, including geological and biological formations, which can form an irreplaceable part of the local environment. By regarding Cultural Heritage Sites as both man made and natural, this will remind us of the ways in which people interact with nature, and of the fundamental need to preserve the balance between the two. The commission itself bestow Cultural Heritage recognition on a site or object. This recognition places no obligation on the property owner.

Commission members, private property owners or local officials can nominate a site for Landmark or Cultural Heritage designation.