How do I check out a book or other materials?
First you must register for a library card. The first time you check out after you register, you are limited to five items.
Students age 5 through 18 currently in the Randolph County School System, Asheboro City School System, or Uwharrie Charter are automatically issued a free digital library card through the REAL 2 (Randolph Education Access for Limitless Learning) program. The library card number is their student ID number and their PIN number is the month and day of their birthday. This card allows up to 10 items out at a time, DVDs cannot be checked out, and does not accrue any fines unless an item is marked as lost.
When will the card be ready for me?
If you register upon entering the library, we can have your card ready for you by the time you have selected your books.
What are the requirements for obtaining a library card?
You must be a resident of North Carolina, 16 years of age, and present a valid North Carolina driver's license or other positive (picture) identification showing your current address. If your identification does not show your current address you must provide something that has been mailed to you at your current address. You must sign a statement that you will be responsible for returning materials on time and in good condition. If you are between the ages of five and fifteen, a parent or legal guardian must co-sign for your card.
How much does my library card cost?
Your first library card and any future replacement cards are issued free.
Do I need my library card to check out materials?
Yes. You must present either your physical library card, REAL2 identification, or a picture of the card located in your RCPLibrary app account to check out materials. Library materials can be renewed, as long as they are not overdue, in-person, via telephone, or online with your library card. It can be used at any of the seven public libraries in Randolph County.
What are the circulation periods?
Books, audio CDs, music CDs: 3 weeks. Can be renewed twice if not on a waiting list.
DVDs: 1 week. Can be renewed twice if not on a waiting list. Patron must be 16 or older to checkout DVDs and cannot use a REAL2 account.
Is there a limit to how many items I can check out?
Limits per person: You can have up to 40 items at a time. You are only allowed 5 DVDs and or 5 CDs out at a time. You must 16 or older to check out DVDs and use cannot use a REAL2 account.
Remember: All seven libraries are connected by computer. Anyone registered at one library is automatically registered at all seven. Patrons must return any overdue materials and pay any outstanding fines before being allowed to check out more materials at any of the seven libraries.
Will I be notified when I have overdue materials?
An automated dialer will attempt to contact you for the first three weeks that material is overdue. A notice will be mailed after one month overdue and after two months. A final notice and letter from the Randolph County attorney will be sent after three months. Patrons with material overdue that exceeds $100 in replacement costs can be summoned to court. Remember: notification of overdue material is a courtesy only; you are responsible for fines and replacement costs regardless of whether you have received notification.
What are the overdue charges?
The library no longer charges fines except for overdue fines on technology lending items such as mobile hotspots, laptop computers, tablets and other devices. Fees for lost items, damaged items, copies, printouts, faxes, etc., remain in effect, as do overdue fines for technology lending as above.