Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Policies - Randolph County Public Library: Policies

These policies are for the benefit and safety of all patrons:

No smoking or tobacco use
No food or uncovered beverages
No concealed weapons
No disruptive behavior
Shirt and shoes required
Children under the age of ten years must be accompanied by a parent or guardian at all times.


 

Randolph County Public Libraries Internet Access & Safety Policy

        The Internet enables patrons to connect to information beyond that contained in the library’s collection.  While the internet contains a wealth of helpful material, it also provides access to information that may be unreliable and sites that some patrons may find offensive. The library has no control over material on the Internet, and cannot be held responsible for its content. The library cannot control access to material or protect patrons from material they may find offensive. Users accept responsibility for determining the suitability and appropriateness of information obtained via the Internet.
        The library operates a technology protection measure (Internet filter) to protect against visual depictions that are obscene, child pornography or harmful to minors as defined in the Children’s Internet Protection Act [Pub. L. No. 106-554]. Library staff are authorized to disable the technology protection measure, on request per site, when a site is blocked in error, and to enable access for adults for bona fide research or other lawful purposes. Internet users should be aware that no technology protection measure is one hundred percent effective. 
    All users of library Internet-accessible computers must agree by signature to this policy. You agree to the following:

  • The library reserves the right to place a time limit on computer use, to require users to have and/or display their library cards during Internet use, and to charge for printouts.
  • Children 10 and under must be accompanied by a parent responsible caretaker age 16 or older. A parent or guardian, by signature, is responsible for the access of children ages 11 – 15.
  • You agree that you are responsible for any information accessed by you and anyone else using a library Internet computer with you.
  • If you are accompanying or making this agreement on behalf of a minor child, you agree that it is your responsibility to determine what is appropriate for your child and that you are responsible for any information accessed or any use of the computer by the child.
  • All users, adult and minors, must take care to protect their personal information and safety when is using social networking sites, electronic mail, chat rooms, and other forms of direct electronic communications.
  • You agree to be considerate in your use of the Internet; you are in a public place where children may be present.  You agree to respect the privacy of others.
  • You may not send, receive or display material considered obscene under North Carolina or federal law.
  •  You may not engage in illegal activity; unauthorized access (“hacking”); unauthorized disclosure, use, and dissemination of personal information regarding minors; and software piracy and violation of copyright or license agreements.
  • You may not alter computer hardware or software except as permitted by security protocols in place on the computer.
  • You may use personal memory devices to save or download files. The library is not responsible for personal memory devices left in the library or for the information contained on such devices, or for personal information saved to library computers.
  • You agree to respond immediately to library staff members’ requests and instructions regarding use of the Internet.

    Use of the library’s computers in violation of this policy is a violation of the library’s Disruptive Behavior Policy, and may result in termination of Internet privileges and/or other remedies as outlined in the Disruptive Behavior Policy.


ADOPTED JULY 16, 1998 by the RANDOLPH PUBLIC LIBRARY.
Revised June 2011.


 

Randolph County Public Libraries Acceptable Use Policy 

The objective of this policy is to ensure that the Randolph County Public Library provides for each user a welcoming, pleasant and safe environment, conducive to reading, studying, seeking information, meeting friends and collaborating; and free from harassment, physical discomfort, danger and psychological and emotional stress. The library environment includes physical spaces, virtual forums and any other venues where library users interact with each other and/or library staff.

In pursuit of this objective the Randolph County Public Library Board of Trustees shall consider the following to be disruptive and unacceptable conduct by individuals accessing library services.

In all library venues, including physical spaces, and in online and telephone interactions:

1. Bullying, intimidation, harassment, stalking, threats, abuse or physical harm against library patrons or staff;

2. Obscene or abusive language or gestures;

3. Failure to respond to requests from library staff members in regard to this policy.

In physical spaces:

4. Smoking or use of any tobacco product including e-cigarettes whether nicotine-based or not;

5. Sustained loud conversation, or noise, that rises above the ambient noise in the library;

6. Engaging in disorderly conduct, committing a nuisance or unreasonably disturbing and offending library users;

7. Protests, demonstrations and/or intentional disruption of library programs or activities;

8. Bodily health or hygiene that constitutes a nuisance or public health risk;

9. Carrying weapons of any sort;

10. Packages, luggage or other collections of personal belongings left unattended;

11. Consumption or exchange of alcoholic beverages and controlled substances;

12. Consumption of food, and consumption of uncovered beverages, except in designated areas;

13. Soliciting (including selling of any kind, taking of surveys, or distribution or posting of leaflets), without authorization by library staff;

14. Sleeping;

15. Destruction of, damage to or theft of library property from buildings or grounds;

16. Removal of material from the library collection without authorization through established lending procedures;

17. Bringing of animals, other than service animals, into buildings;

18. Use of library telephones unless authorized by library staff;

19. Entry into non-public areas except by invitation or approval of library staff’

20. Failure to leave the building promptly at closing.

Disruptive behavior as defined by this policy may result in temporary or permanent exclusion from the library; temporary or permanent denial of any or all library services; and/or intervention by law enforcement personnel.

North Carolina laws pertaining to the Disruptive Behavior Policy: GS 14-33 Misdemeanor assaults, batteries and affrays; GS 14-76 Larceny, mutilation, or destruction of public records and papers; GS 14-127 Willful and wanton injury to real property; GS 14-132 Disorderly Conduct in and injuries to public buildings; GS 14-134 Trespass on land after being forbidden; GS 14-190.9 Indecent exposure; GS 14-204.1 Loitering for the purpose of engaging in prostitution offense; GS14-269 Carrying concealed weapons; GS 14-277.1 Communicating threats; GS 14-398 Theft or destruction of property of public libraries, museums, etc.; GS 153A-266 Powers and duties of trustees.

Randolph County Public Library Board of Trustees

Approved as revised, July 12, 2018; January 10, 2019; April 8, 2021; January 12, 2023

 

Randolph County Public Libraries Safe Child Policy

POLICY STATEMENT

Randolph Public Library welcomes children of all ages and aims to provide a pleasant, safe environment for children who visit the library.  Library staff members have many duties to perform in order to serve the citizens of Randolph County.  They are unable to monitor the behavior or whereabouts of each patron.  In order to help ensure that a child will have a pleasant and safe experience while visiting the library, any child six (6) years of age or younger must be in the presence of a parent or responsible caretaker 16 years of age or older during their entire stay at the library. Any child between the ages of seven and 10 years of age must have a parent or responsible caretaker present in the building during their entire stay at the library.  No child of any age should be left alone at the library for more than four hours at a time.  The parent/caretaker is responsible for the behavior of the child in the library.  Library staff members do not assume responsibility for children in the library.

PROCEDURE: UNATTENDED CHILD

Ask who accompanied the child to the library. Attempt to locate that person and explain the unattended child policy, stressing our concern for the child's safety. If the parent/caretaker is not in the building, the child will remain in the Children's Room and the parent/caretaker will be contacted and asked to come to the library and accompany the child during his/her visit. If the parent/caretaker cannot be immediately contacted, the child will remain in the Children's Room until a responsible adult arrives to pick up the child. If the staff is unable to locate a parent or caregiver for a child 10 years of age or under, staff will alert Child Protective Services Division of Randolph County Social Services at 318-3000. In the event an unattended child becomes seriously ill or injured on the premises and the parent cannot be located, staff member will contact 911.     

PROCEDURE: UNATTENDED CHILD AT CLOSING

Beginning 15 minutes before closing ask any child if they are accompanied by a parent/caretaker or if they have arranged to be picked up by closing time.  If not, child should immediately call for someone to pick them up before closing time.  Any child who has not been picked up at closing time should be instructed to call again for someone to pick them up immediately.  If child has not been picked up by 20 minutes after closing, staff will call 911 to alert the on duty child Protective Services staff member.  A library staff member should remain with the child until the Social Services staff worker or a deputy from the Randolph County Sheriff’s Department responds.

DISRUPTIVE BEHAVIOR

  1. Child should be informed of proper behavior for Children’s Room.
  2. If poor behavior continues, inform the parent/caretaker that the child is disturbing others.
  3. If the child is unattended, the parent/caretaker should be contacted to pick up the child.  Printed information (available in the Children’s Room) about the Safe Child Policy should be sent home with the child.

APPROVED BY THE RANDOLPH PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOVEMBER 12, 1996. Revised April 15, 2008


Randolph County Public Libraries Collection Development Policy

Printable version

RANDOLPH COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARIES MISSION STATEMENT:

Randolph County Public Libraries cultivate a thriving community by nurturing readers, empowering learners, and creating connections.

Purpose of the Collection Development Policy:

The purpose of the library’s collection development policy is to assure that the library purchases, within budgetary limitations, the best materials of both permanent and current interest in all subjects. The selection of library resources is a prime activity within the library and is based on the needs and requests of the community which it serves.

Community Description:

Randolph County is primarily a rural, agricultural county. There were 144,171 individuals counted in the  2020 census living in  56,790 households.. The per capita income for the county was $25,246.  However, several communities in the county have a per capita income lower than this. According to the last census 22 percent of the population is under 18, and persons age 65 and over make up 18 percent; estimates forecast significant growth in the over-60 population over the next two decades. Overall, 77 percent of the population is white/non-Hispanic; 12.7 percent is Hispanic; and 7 percent is African American.

Randolph County Public Library has seven service locations plus an Extension (outreach) service, a Mobile Library, and inter- and intralibrary loan services. Locations include the headquarters library in Asheboro, and branch libraries in Archdale, Franklinville, Liberty, Ramseur, Randleman, and Seagrove.

Five of the libraries are operated by the county with significant municipal support. Two libraries are operated by their municipalities with significant county support. Randolph County government provides -65% of the operating income received by the library system. Additional funds come through State Aid and local municipalities.

The  headquarters library is open 6 days a week, for a total of 61 hours per week. Of the 517,611 items circulated in FY  2018-1019,  229,593 items ( 44 percent) were circulated from the central library. Each library has public access computers that allow access to the Internet, library databases, and Microsoft Office products., Each library offers free WiFi access to patrons.

MATERIAL SELECTION

The aim of the library collection is to make available books and other materials that meet the educational, informational, cultural and recreational needs of the patrons.

Final responsibility for selection of all library materials rests with the Library Director, who operates within the framework of policies determined by the Board of Trustees.

Responsibility for the selection of materials for the headquarters adult book collection lies with the Head of Adult Collection Development as designated by library administration. This individual manages the adult book collection and the lease book collection; selects materials for the collection; and advises branch book selectors as requested. Duties may be shared among staff members.

Responsibility for the selection of materials for the headquarters audio/visual collection lies with the Audio/Visual Librarian or other qualified staff member designated by library administration.

Responsibility for the selection of materials for the reference collection lies with the Head of Reference.

Responsibility for the selection of materials for the children’s room lies with the Head of Youth Services.

Responsibility for the selection of materials for the Extension Department lies with the Head of Extension Services.

Responsibility for the selection of materials for the Randolph Room lies with the County History Librarian.

Responsibility for the selection of materials for the young adult collection lies with the Teen Services Librarian.

Responsibility for selection of materials at branch/town libraries lies with the branch manager.

Responsibility for selection of materials for the Mobile Library rests with the Head of Extension Services and the Teen Services Librarian.

Any division head assigned responsibility for an individual collection may delegate selection of materials for sections of the collection to qualified subordinate staff members.

Problems will be referred to the selector’s immediate supervisor, or to the director for resolution. Suggestions from other staff members and library users are encouraged and seriously considered.

Selection of materials is based on the professional knowledge and judgment of the library staff, whose expertise includes familiarity with all types of materials and familiarity with the strengths and weaknesses of the existing collections, and awareness of the needs of the community. Each title is judged individually according to its intrinsic merit, the subject treated, the reader interest, and need for the book in an organized collection. Each title is judged as a whole, and isolated passages in themselves are not used as criteria. The selectors also consider professional review, authority, and demand. Staff members consult standard bibliographic works and published reviews in professional and general periodicals for evaluations of available materials. Some works will be purchased based on the strength of an author’s or performer’s previous popularity before a written review is available.

The children’s collection is selected to promote literacy and reading skills, provide pleasurable reading for reading’s sake and, insofar as possible, to provide information in all fields of knowledge that are of interest to children. The collection is carefully selected for children of all ages and abilities, and emphasis is placed upon materials of high quality that stimulate imagination, mental growth, and the development of taste for good literature.

Materials for young adults are selected with the goal of providing the materials needed for the enrichment of their education as well as materials for their pleasure and entertainment.

The scope of the Randolph County Public Library’s collection is fundamentally popular and light research materials. No subject area will be purchased at a deeper conspectus basis than 3A * except in the areas of Randolph County history and works by Randolph County authors.

* The Conspectus (appended at the end of this policy) process is a librarian tool to analyze the level at which a library collects materials on a subject. The scale runs from 0 (Do not collect) to 5 (The Library collects everything in any language ever published on the subject). 1B is a library conspectus level which can be described as the library will purchase materials in this subject on a recreational research level from a distinct plan on how it fits the community. The library strives to collect items on Randolph County history at a much more in depth research level. 

VIDEO COLLECTIONS

The library acquires, makes available and encourages the use of video materials to serve the diverse general informational, educational and recreational needs of the community. The collection strives to complement, rather than compete with, commercially available video content offering a curated collection focus. The collection strives to be general in nature, and does not contain specialized material for exclusive use of one particular group. The collection does not include material purchased specifically for school or college curriculum use.

General collection development practices set forth in the overall Randolph County Public Library Collection Development Policy also apply to video collection development, in addition to conditions established here.

Selection Process

Qualified staff members coordinate the selection, acquisition and discarding of materials within the video collection. Items are considered for inclusion based on local and/or cultural relevance as determined by favorable reviews from authoritative sources (major newspapers, magazines and online publications) and critical aggregator websites (e.g. Rotten Tomatoes); awards and honors; and patron demand.

Selection Criteria

Acquisitions are limited to works for which an acceptable level of quality has been determined in one or more of the following ways:

  • By the opinion of qualified reviewers in recognized, authoritative review sources or critical aggregators.
  • Through recognition by prizes, awards, etc. given by film/televison industry or critics’ organizations.
  • By patron demand.
  • Materials that have appeared on public television networks.
  • In-house review by the qualified staff member responsible for video selection.
  • If an artist, in seeking realistic representation of the human condition, includes material that is sexually candid or dialog with vulgar diction, such inclusion will not be considered reason for rejection if the video otherwise meets standards for acquisition.

General quality criteria include the following:

  • Is of present and potential relevance to community needs.
  • Provides insight into human and social needs.
  • Accurately presents factual information.
  • Is useful for its intended audience.
  • Satisfies public demand resulting from the attention of critics and reviews.
  • Provides high-quality performances.
  • Is produced with technical skill.
  • Provides a presentation most effectively or appropriately delivered in the video format.
  • Provides information or presentation that is unique to or available only in the format.

Special criteria

Nonfiction videos: Nonfiction video is purchased when the format provides a useful way of presenting information. All general subjects will be acquired with emphasis on areas currently in demand by library patrons or relevant to community needs.

Children’s videos: These materials should be useful and relevant to children’s everyday needs, interests and activities. Special emphasis will be placed on a child’s developmental growth..

Feature films: Feature films will be purchased to satisfy the public’s long-term need for educational and/or recreational materials and to serve different tastes and interests. Classics, popular features of longstanding value  and award winners will be included.

ELECTRONIC COLLECTIONS

The library provides electronic educational and recreational resources in a variety of formats and collections, accessible in-house and remotely by any library cardholder with Internet access. These may include:

  • Electronic books, audiobooks, magazines and videos selected individually by library staff or available in aggregated collections selected by library staff;
  • Electronic books, audiobooks, magazines and videos in aggregated collections available from consortia to which the library belongs, selected by librarians or committees of librarians representing the consortia;
  • Electronic databases and research resources in aggregated collections selected by library staff; and
  • Electronic databases and research resources available from consortia to which the library belongs, selected by librarians or committees of librarians.

Electronic books, audiobooks, magazines and videos selected individually by staff are selected on the basis of this Collection Development Policy and are subject to its provisions. Responsibility for selection of these materials rests with qualified staff assigned by library administration.

Electronic materials and research resources in aggregated collections selected by library staff or made available by consortia to which the library belongs may contain hundreds of millions of individual books, audiobooks, videos, full-text articles, digitized newspapers, language learning tools and more. These resources generally are developed by library or education industry publishers and are commonly offered by libraries throughout the United States and the world. In the case of resources made available through consortia, licensing on a consortia-basis dramatically reduces the cost of providing them and offers the library resources it would not be able to afford otherwise. Because it is impossible to review every individual item in aggregated collections, local selectors and those managing consortia collections assess the value of e-resource databases as a whole. Decisions are not made on the basis of the presence or content of individual items.

GIFTS

The library accepts gifts of books and other materials with the understanding that they become the property of the library and are evaluated in the same manner as purchased

materials. Acceptance by the library of any gift does not mean that that item will be incorporated in the collection. The library reserves the right to refuse any donation deemed unsuitable based on the aforementioned explanation. Gifts that are not added to the collection will be donated to the Friends of the Library. Accessioning of gifts will be at the discretion of the head of Collection Development or the person responsible for selecting the particular materials being donated. Donors of books and other material to the Asheboro library generally should be referred to the Friends of the Library collection location, but library staff at its discretion may accept items that are in good condition and may be immediately useful in the library collection.  Branch libraries may set up their own procedures for receiving gift items.

COLLECTION MAINTENANCE

The library has an obligation to maintain an up-to-date collection which reflects the reading and research interest of the community. Items in the collection also have a physical lifespan and as a result, age may render them no longer usable. This means that periodically items will have to be designated for discard. The Library utilizes the widely accepted CREW (Continuous Review, Evaluate, and Weed) Method to determine items for discard. Detailed information on the CREW Method can be found here. Items will be designated for discard based upon whether it is a classic, replacement possibilities, age, relevancy, lack of use, and whether there are multiple copies of the item. Items that are designated for discard will be reviewed by -the library staff member charged with responsibility for the collection in which the items are housed. Salable items in acceptable condition will then be made available to the Friends of the Library for sale or discard.

Occasionally, items of a classic nature are not available for replacement. These items in poor physical condition will be designated for rebinding. Rebinding is done once or twice a year at the discretion of the Head of Technical Services.

INTELLECTUAL FREEDOM STATEMENT

The library has a responsibility to serve all segments of the community. Materials useful to some may be objectionable to others. Selections are based solely on the merits of the work in relation to building the collections and to serving the interests of readers. The library attempts to represent all sides of controversial issues. Its function is to provide information, not to advocate, or limit access to, specific points of view.

Responsibility for what children read rests with the children’s parents and/or legal guardians. Materials are cataloged and housed, or in the case of electronic resources categorized, generally in age-appropriate collections. Library staff always are available to guide children and parents/guardians to books and other resources that are in keeping with parents/guardians’ individual values. Selections will not be inhibited by the possibility that controversial materials may come into the children’s possession though items are catalogued and shelved, or categorized, appropriately according to content.  

In its selection of materials, the library subscribes to the American Library Association’s Freedom to Read Statement and to the Library Bill of Rights.

RECONSIDERATION OF MATERIALS

Any library cardholder may request reconsideration of an item or items in the library’s collection. No challenged materials which have been duly selected shall be removed from the library’s collection except upon the recommendation of the Library Director or upon formal action of the Board of Trustees when a recommendation of the Director is appealed.

 Procedure:

1. A patron challenging any part of the collection should first be offered a copy of the Materials Selection Policy to read and offered the opportunity to discuss the matter informally with the Library Director or Assistant Director.

2. If material is still questioned, the patron can complete  the form “Statement of Concern about Library Resources” (form appended). A form will be completed for each item requested for reconsideration. The form must be filled out completely.

3. The Library Director will review the form and make a reply to the person.

4. If the patron is not satisfied with the reply, he/she may bring the matter to the attention of the Board of Trustees, not less than one week prior to the scheduled meeting.

5. The Board of Trustees will review the communication, the Library Director’s decision and the issues raised, and will respond to the patron when the review process is complete.

Note: In the case of electronic resources provided by database vendors or through consortia  arrangements, removal or restriction of access to individual items may not be possible. In the case of such reconsideration requests, retention decisions will be based on the overall value of the electronic resource that contains the item of concern.

The Board has the legal responsibility for the collection and its protection under the First Amendment of the Bill of Rights of the United States Constitution and under Randolph County Ordinance as provided for in Chapter 153A, Article 14, of the North Carolina General Statutes.

REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION

Click here for Request for Reconsideration form

CONSPECTUS

Collection Depth Indicator Definitions

0 OUT OF SCOPE

The library does not intentionally collect materials in any format for this subject.

1 MINIMAL INFORMATION LEVEL

Collections that support minimal inquiries about this subject and include a very limited collection of general resources, including monographs and reference works. Periodicals directly dealing with this topic and in-depth electronic information resources are not collected.

The collection should be frequently and systematically reviewed for currency of information. Superseded editions and titles containing outdated information should be withdrawn. Classic or standard retrospective materials may be retained.

1a MINIMAL INFORMATION LEVEL, UNEVEN COVERAGE

  • Few selections and an unsystematic representation of the subject
  • Supports limited, specific service needs
  • Consistently maintained even though coverage is limited

1b MINIMAL INFORMATION LEVEL, FOCUSED COVERAGE

  • Few selections, but a systematic representation of the subject
  • Includes basic authors, some core works and a spectrum of points of view
  • Consistently maintained

2 BASIC INFORMATION LEVEL

Collections that introduce and define a subject, indicate the varieties of information available elsewhere, and support the needs of general library users through the first two years of college instruction include:

  • A limited collection of general monographs and reference tools
  • A limited collection of representative general periodicals
  • Defined access to a limited collection of owned or remotely accessed electronic bibliographic tools, texts, data sets, journals, etc.

The collection should be frequently and systematically reviewed for currency of information. Superseded editions and titles containing outdated information should be withdrawn. Classic or standard retrospective materials may be retained.

2a BASIC INFORMATION LEVEL, INTRODUCTORY

Limited collections of introductory monographs and reference tools that include:

  • Basic explanatory works
  • Histories of the development of the topic
  • General works about the field and its important personages
  • General encyclopedias, periodical indexes-and statistical sources

This collection is sufficient to support the inquiries of patrons and students through high school attempting to locate general information about a subject.

2b BASIC INFORMATION LEVEL, ADVANCED

Collections of general periodicals and a broader and more in-depth array of introductory monographs and reference tools that include:

  • Basic explanatory works
  • Histories of the development of the topic
  • General works about the field and its important personages
  • A broader array of general encyclopedias, periodical indexes, and statistical sources
  • A limited collection of representative general periodicals
  • Defined access to a limited collection of owned or remotely accessed electronic bibliographic tools, texts, data sets, journals, etc.

This collection is sufficient to support the basic informational and recreational reading needs of an educated general public or students through the first two years of college.

3 STUDY OR INSTRUCTIONAL SUPPORT LEVEL

Collections that provide information about a subject in a systematic way, but at a level of less than research intensity and support the needs of general library users through college and beginning graduate instruction include:

  • An extensive collection of general monographs and reference works and selected specialized monographs and reference works
  • An extensive collection of general periodicals and a representative collection of specialized periodicals
  • Limited collections of appropriate materials in languages other than the primary language of the collection and the country, for example, materials to aid in learning a language for nonnative speakers or literature in the original language, such as German poetry in German or Spanish history in Spanish
  • Extensive collections of the works of well-known authors and selections from the works of lesser-known authors
  • Defined access to a broad collection of owned or remotely accessed electronic resources, including bibliographic tools, texts, data sets, journals, etc.

The collection should be systematically reviewed for currency of information and for assurance that essential and important information is retained, including significant numbers of retrospective materials.

3a BASIC STUDY OR INSTRUCTIONAL SUPPORT LEVEL

Resources adequate for imparting and maintaining knowledge about the primary topics of a subject area that include:

  • A high percentage of the most important literature or core works in the field
  • An extensive collection of general monographs and reference works
  • An extensive collection of general periodicals and indexes/abstracts
  • Other than those in the primary collection language, materials are limited to learning materials for non-native speakers and representative well-known authors in the original language, primarily for language education
  • Defined access to appropriate electronic resources

This collection supports undergraduate courses, as well as the independent study needs of the lifelong learner.

3b INTERMEDIATE STUDY OR INSTRUCTIONAL SUPPORT LEVEL

Resources adequate for imparting and maintaining knowledge about more specialized subject areas which provide more comprehensive coverage of the subject with broader and more in-depth materials that include:

  • A high percentage of the most important literature or core works in the field, including retrospective resources
  • An extensive collection of general monographs and reference works and selected specialized monographs and reference works
  • An extensive collection of general periodicals and a representative collection of specialized periodicals and indexes/abstracts
  • A selection of resources in other languages, including well-known authors in the original language
  • Defined access to a broad range of specialized electronic resources

This collection supports upper division undergraduate courses.

3c ADVANCED STUDY OR INSTRUCTIONAL SUPPORT LEVEL

Resources adequate for imparting and maintaining knowledge about all aspects of the topic which are more extensive than the intermediate level but less than those needed for doctoral and independent research that include:

  • An almost complete collection of core works including significant numbers of retrospective materials and resources
  • A broader collection of specialized works by lesser-known, as well as well-known authors
  • An extensive collection of general and specialized monographs and reference works
  • An extensive collection of general and specialized periodicals and indexes/abstracts
  • A selection of resources in other languages, including well-known authors in the original language and a selection of subject-specific materials in appropriate languages.
  • Defined access to a broad range of specialized electronic resources

This collection supports master's degree level programs as well as other specialized inquiries.

4 RESEARCH LEVEL

Collections that contain the major published source materials required for doctoral study and independent research include:

  • A very extensive collection of general and specialized monographs and reference works
  • A very extensive collection of general and specialized periodicals
  • Extensive collections of appropriate materials in languages other than the primary language of the country and collection
  • Extensive collections of the works of both well-known and lesser-known authors
  • Defined access to a very extensive collection of owned or remotely accessed electronic resources, including bibliographic tools, texts, data sets, journals, etc.

Older material is retained and systematically preserved to serve the needs of historical research.

5 COMPREHENSIVE LEVEL

Collections in a specifically defined field of knowledge that strive to be exhaustive as far as is reasonably possible (i.e., "special collections"), in all applicable languages include:

  • Exhaustive collections of published materials
  • Very extensive manuscript collections
  • Very extensive collections in all other pertinent formats

Older material is retained and systematically preserved to serve the needs of historical research. A comprehensive level collection may serve as a national or international resource.

Language Coverage Indicators

The language coverage indicators defined below are a major change from those originally developed for the RLG Conspectus. The language indicators have been revised so they can be used in many countries and cultures.

Language coverage is closely linked to collection indicator levels. The extent of the collection in the primary language of the country and library, as well as the extent of other languages within the collection helps to determine the collection level indicator for each segment. Language coverage qualifies and amplifies collection levels. In addition to the primary or predominant language, other language coverage is essential for collections at the 3, 4, or 5 level. Generally, the higher the assessment level, the broader or more extensive the additional language coverage expected. Language indicators may be added to the collection depth indicators for collection level, acquisition commitment and collection goals when appropriate.

P = Primary language of the country predominates-little or no other-language material

S = Selected other-language material included in addition to the primary language

W = Wide selection of language s represented

X = Material is mainly in one language other than the primary language of the library and country

While the above language indicators may be adapted to fit most circumstances, there are instances when further adaptation of the conspectus tool is necessary. Countries such as Canada and New Zealand have dual official national or regional languages. Other countries may also have two languages that predominate, either officially or unofficially. The following additional code is suggested for use in such circumstances. The collection management policy will serve to explain any unique circumstances for language as for other collection characteristics.

D = Dual languages or two primary languages predominate with little or no other-language material

The Canadian Association of Research Libraries has used a special language code since 1986 to accommodate their unique language issues. The WLN Conspectus software supports use of these special indicators.

The comment field should be utilized to indicate which language(s) is represented in addition to the primary or dual languages for a subject, category, or division. The use of the comment field for this purpose provides specific information to explain the use of a language code beyond "P" (primary) or "D" (dual) and allows for the report function to generate a list of all subjects supported by any language of interest.

Adopted by the Randolph Public Library Board of Trustees
November 12, 2009
Revised 10/13/2022