Scrapbooks
Scrapbooks often include news items of note as well as their unique aesthetic or artistic qualities, making them valued historical records. Frequently a mix of newspaper print, hand- and type-written text, photographs and memorabilia, they present diverse and complex preservation problems; they also require costly archival boxes and large amounts of storage space. Due to these factors, the vast majority of scrapbooks which the Randolph Room accepts as gifts will be scanned digitally, preserved in electronic archival format and made available online here as portable document format (pdf) files. Original photographs, artwork, printed material (not newspaper clippings) and other unique items will be retained and archived to the extent they can be removed from the scrapbook without significant damage to the item(s). Covers and other contents will generally be discarded.
Archdale/Trinity Area Groups and Individuals
The Archdale Trinity Woman's Club (ATWC) was organized in 1959. In October, 2012, the club donated to the Randolph Room six scrapbooks and four other binders with Club minutes and rosters. These scrapbooks were 12"x14" and most were 4" thick; the binders varied in size. Scans of most of these items are linked below; other items are archived in the Archdale Trinity Woman's Club Collection and are available for research in the Randolph Room.
ATWC and Golden Age Club - scrapbook of photographs, news clippings and correspondence, 1969-1978 (images 2-13 are loose items found in the beginning of the scrapbook)
ATWC, Children's Playground at Creekside Park, 1978-1980 - Archdale Trinity Woman's Club proposed and later undertook to raise money and make a plan for a dedicated playground area in the newly developed park in Archdale. This book contains descriptions of their fundraising events and photographs of the site.
ATWC and Golden Age Club - scrapbook of photographs, news clippings and correspondence, 1978-1986
ATWC - scrapbooks of meeting programs and activities, including some original photographs. These large scrapbooks have been digitized in two parts to facilitate quicker loading for viewers.
1990-1991 - Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3
Personal scrapbook of the Archdale/Trinity Area, 1970s - newspaper clippings and some other clippings about Randolph County and the Archdale/Trinity area, during the 1970's, including events, clubs, sports, arts, personality profiles, woman's club, library opening, wedding announcements, anniversaries, and obituaries; may have been compiled by Martha Morgan Stunda.
Carolina Power and Light's "Finer Carolina" Competitions
Asheboro Groups and Individuals
Asheboro High School
Asheboro Junior Woman's Club - organized in 1938, the Randolph Room has a number of scrapbooks and/or press books from club members. These often include the Year Book for the local club as well as various newspaper clippings; possibly also original photographic prints.
Club year 1957-1958; Club year 1958-1959 (Part 1 and Part 2); Club Year 1959-1960
Asheboro Kiwanis Club scrapbook, 1950
Bonkemeyer Scrapbooks - two scrapbooks, part of the Bonkemeyer Collection (MssColl#59), and believed to have belonged to Corda Underwood Bonkemeyer (1911-1972); she and her husband Lucian A. "Bonk" Bonkemeyer operated Bonk's Cleaners beginning in 1948 and their children continued the business through June, 2013. Both were primarily newspaper clippings on very fragile paper, generally organized chronologically but with some overlap. Book 1 spans 1938-1944 and Book 2 includes events 1941-1947.
Cranford Scrapbook (newspaper clippings gathered by either Mrs. C.C. (Ethel Cox) Cranford or her daughter Sarah Elizabeth Cranford of marriages and musical events in Asheboro and surrounding communities, 1949-1958; also includes some histories of the county)
Garden Clubs - a number of Garden Clubs have donated scrapbooks to the Randolph Room through the years. We are in the process of scanning them, disassembling them and retaining original items (not newspaper clippings). As they are scanned we will be linking them here.
Klopman Mills Process Scrapbook
McCrary Eagles - undated but believed to be spanning 1937-1940s; newspaper clippings, Western Union telegrams and some original photographs related to the McCrary Eagles baseball and basketball teams. Posts holding scrapbook together were removed and pages most likely not retained in original order prior to its donation to The Randolph Room with other materials from The Courier-Tribune newsroom.
Musical Arts Club - two scrapbooks from the Asheboro Club. An affiliate club of the National Federation of Music Clubs, the Musical Arts Club Collection includes these two scrapbooks and the contents of three binders of minutes, attendance and newspaper clippings of their monthly meetings.
1974-1979 Scrapbook (with some undated items and others, loosely inserted, to 1983)
Louise Swaim - one scrapbook from Mary Louise Swaim (1909-1981), long-time organist at Asheboro's Central United Methodist Church and private piano teacher. Includes newspaper clippings and programs of events, 1958-1962, many related to the Nocturne Music Club; in two parts here (Part 1, Part 2) due to its size. From the Louise Swaim Collection donated to The Randolph Room by Paula S. Scarboro, first cousin once removed to Miss Swaim, which includes items from Dr. John Swaim (1878-1960), long-time Asheboro dentist, who was Miss Swaim's father, and family photographs from her mother's family (Sallie Curtis Swaim, 1876-1958).
United Daughters of the Confederacy scrapbooks - three scrapbooks belonged to Mrs. J.D. Ross, Sr. (Ida Florence Morris Ross, 1878-1966). Mrs. Ross was active at the state and local levels of this organization as well as Children of the Confederacy, an auxiliary to the UDC. At one point Mrs. Ross was state chaplain but these scrapbooks seem to be her personal ones. Books 1 and 2 have been scanned are are available here: Book 1, Book 2 Part 1, Book 2 Part 2, Book 2 Part 3, Book 2 Part 4, Book 3 Part 1, Book 3 Part 2, Book 3 Part 3, Book 3 Part 4 and Book 3 Part 5.
Franklinville
By Maxine Yorke/York Benson (1921-2018) donated by her niece Priscilla Yorke Dunn:
Maxine Yorke Scrapbook (personal scrapbook containing school event programs (Franklinville School), invitations, report cards, holiday cards and other items; dates span 1935 to 1941, items are generally organized chronologically although loose items are in various places; bulk of items pre-date 1940)
Maxine York Benson Scrapbook (personal newspaper clipping scrapbook focused on Franklinville but including other areas of Randolph County; dates span 1941 to 1967 but pages are not arranged chronologically)
George Russell Scrapbook (ca. 1922; typewritten history of the Franklinsville Manufacturing Company and photographs regarding the same, on long-term loan from Randolph Heritage Conservancy)
Randolph County Generally
Ora Bell Scrapbook - Mrs. Bell was Ora Myrtle Nance Brown Bell (1894-1977) and her scrapbook was donated as part of the Max Bell Collection. Covering a variety of events in the Farmer and Asheboro communities, the scrapbook pages were apparently mis-ordered at some time, as they are not arranged chronologically. No attempt to re-arrange them has been made. The items here span from roughly 1918 into 1977.
Home Demonstration Clubs - two scrapbooks from the 12th District, Federation of North Carolina Home Demonstration Clubs. Donated by Bernice Millikan Davis through her daughter Kay Davis Coltrane. The scrapbooks were scanned in their entirety; other items from this Collection are available in the Randolph Room.
Ella Lawson Layne scrapbook of Judi Klipfel's reign as Miss Randolph County and Miss North Carolina 1959 - mostly newspaper clippings with text and images; includes two photographic prints
Randolph Library Association - forerunner to the Randolph Library Foundation, this newspaper clipping scrapbook includes items from roughly 1938 through 1940
World War II era scrapbooks
Clyde Lambeth - Mr. Lambeth (1927-2000) served in World War II, traveling from San Francisco, CA to Guam on the USS Gen. W.F. Hase. Many photographs are from that transport and at Guam; Mr. Lambeth's image is on the first photo page, bottom right. Many images of people are unidentified while images of places are somewhat iconic and/or official Armed Services photographs. Part of the Clyde Lambeth Collection (MssColl#7).
World War II Service Scrapbook-Army - newspaper clippings of Randolph County service members in the U.S. Army. Male service members' information arranged somewhat alphabetically; separate sections for females serving in WAC, WAAC, Waves, female Marines and as nurses.
World War II Service Scrapbook-Navy - (loose items folder includes some U.S. Army members' news) arranged somewhat alphabetically and includes news of Randolph County residents serving in Marine Corps and as Naval Aviators.
World War II Service Scrapbook-Corbett Scott - photocopies of newspaper clippings, service club newsletters, church bulletins and other community sources of information; arranged somewhat chronologically.
Sophia
By Althea Farlow Brown (1897-1983) (for 50 years Mrs. Brown was the Sophia/New Market area correspondent for The Courier and Courier-Tribune; more complete descriptions of these three news clipping scrapbooks, which are digitized in smaller parts due to their size) are found in Vol. 1, Pt. 1 and Vol. 3, Pt. 1) - Vol. 1, Part 1; Vol. 1, Part 2; Vol. 1, Part 3; Vol. 1, Part 4; Vol. 1 Part 5; Vol 2, Part 1; Vol. 2, Part 2; Vol. 2, Part 3; Vol. 2, Part 4; Vol. 3, Part 1; Vol. 3, Part 2; Vol. 3, Part 3)
Staley
Staley area scrapbook by Leffie Cleo Moffitt Clark (1924-2003) includes engagement/wedding notices, service member news, travel items, and calling cards of contemporaries, principally spanning 1944-1948
